Primary Ages 5 - 12years old

Year 1 - Year 8

Children’s schooling begins at primary school. If it’s a ‘full’ primary school, they stay there from five to 12 years old. If it’s a ‘contributing’ primary school they will move onto to an ‘intermediate’ school for their last two primary school years, from 11-12 years old.

Intermediate schools, where they’re available, provide a bridge to the next step of secondary school (which is also sometimes called college, high school or grammar school)

Year 9 - Year 10

Noted: NCEA National Certificate Of Education Achievement.

Year 11 - Year 13

NCEA Level1
NCEA Level2
NCEA Level3

Secondary Ages 13 - 18years old

NCEA (the National Certificate of Educational Achievement) is the main secondary school qualification in New Zealand.
NCEA is actually three certificates: it can be awarded at Levels 1, 2 and 3. Students usually begin studying for their NCEA Level 1 in Year 11 and continue through Years 12 and 13 (from ages 15 through to 18).
Many vocational qualifications are also offered in secondary schools. These include, for example, the National Certificate of Tourism, the National Certificate in Computing, and the National Certificate of Motor Engineering.

Foundation Programmes




Bachelor's Degree

Postgraduate Diploma

Master's Degree

Bachelor's Degree

Postgraduate Diploma

Master's Degree